Actually free
No trial, no countdown, card on first Send
Create unlimited invoices and estimates. Send 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days. The free plan does not expire.
Free invoice software. No trial. Card on first Send only.
Most free invoice software gives you a 14-day trial and calls it free. WaffleInvoice is genuinely free: unlimited invoices, 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days (new accounts: 5/24h for 14 days), client portal, and estimates. No card to sign up; card on first Send, never charged on Free. Upgrade to Pro only when you want online payments or unlimited email sends.
WaffleInvoice is free invoice software for freelancers and service businesses, with online payments, recurring billing, and a client portal built in.
Card on first Send only. Free plan stays free, forever.
Actually free
Create unlimited invoices and estimates. Send 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days. The free plan does not expire.
Client portal included
Every account includes a client-facing portal where clients view invoices and track status. Free, no upgrade needed.
Pro when you need more
Online card and ACH payments, unlimited email sends, recurring invoices, auto reminders, late fees, and time tracking.
Checked October 8, 2026
The useful question is not which product uses the word “free.” It is what remains free after setup, and which limits or processing costs apply to the work you actually do.
| Product | Free plan or trial | Users | Invoice / client limits | Email / send limits | Native mobile | Payments and processing | Recurring / reminders | Bookkeeping | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WaffleInvoice | Permanent Free plan; Pro is optional | 1 account owner on Free; team access on Pro | Unlimited invoices, estimates, and clients | 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days; new accounts also have 5 per 24 hours for 14 days | iPhone and iPad app; mobile web on iPhone and Android | Pro only; Stripe card rates and U.S. ACH at 0.8%, capped at $5; no WaffleInvoice markup | Recurring invoices and automatic reminders on Pro | No general ledger or tax bookkeeping | Focused invoicing for freelancers and service businesses |
| Zoho Invoice | Permanent free product | Public pricing page does not state a user limit; up to 2 organizations per account | No current invoice or client cap stated on the U.S. pricing page | No current email cap stated on the U.S. pricing page | iOS and Android apps | Connects payment gateways; availability and gateway fees vary by country | Recurring invoices and payment reminders included | Expense recording and reports; Zoho Books is the separate accounting product | Feature-dense free invoicing and Zoho users |
| Square Invoices | Square Free has no monthly subscription; paid tiers have 30-day trials | Team access depends on Square permissions and plan | Unlimited digital invoices, estimates, and recurring invoices in the U.S. | No invoice-send cap stated for Square Free | Square Invoices and Square POS apps for iOS and Android | U.S. Free: online invoice cards 3.3% + 30¢; ACH 1% with $1 minimum | Recurring invoices included; reminder options vary by plan | Sales reporting, not full bookkeeping | Businesses already taking payments through Square |
| Wave | Starter is permanent free in the U.S. and Canada | Additional admin/editor/viewer access is a Pro feature | Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills, and bookkeeping records | Free plan shares links or PDFs; automatic sending requires online payments | Mobile app; invoice creation in the app is a Pro feature | Where approved: U.S. cards from 2.9% + 60¢; country and method availability varies | Automatic reminders on Pro; payment-enabled sending can add automation | Bookkeeping records included; bank auto-import and categorization on Pro | U.S./Canada businesses wanting invoicing plus bookkeeping |
| FreshBooks | 30-day trial, then a paid plan; no permanent free plan | 1 owner; extra team members cost $11 per month each in the U.S. | Lite bills 5 clients; Plus 50; Premium and Select unlimited | Unlimited customized invoices within the plan client limit | iOS and Android apps | U.S. standard cards 2.9% + 30¢; ACH 1%; rates and methods vary by country | Recurring invoices and late-payment reminders included in paid plans | Double-entry accounting and financial reports included | Businesses that want invoicing and accounting together |
We compared the public plan type, users, invoice and client limits, sending limits, mobile access, payment collection, automation, bookkeeping, and best-fit workflow shown by each provider on October 8, 2026. Country-specific payment features and fees are labeled where they differ. WaffleInvoice did not independently test features that could not be verified in current official product or support material; those cells say when a limit was not publicly stated.
| Choose WaffleInvoice if | Choose another tool if |
|---|---|
| You want a focused invoice workflow, unlimited invoice and client records, a permanent free plan, and a mobile-friendly browser experience. | You need native iOS or Android software, built-in bookkeeping, point-of-sale hardware, or several users on the free tier. |
| You are comfortable downloading PDFs after the 25-email rolling cap and upgrading only when you need payments or automation. | You need unlimited in-app sending, recurring billing, or payment collection without a paid subscription. |
Common questions
The free plan is genuinely permanent. You get unlimited invoice creation, unlimited estimates, 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days (new accounts: 5/24h for 14 days), and a client portal. No card to sign up; card on first Send, never charged on Free. The catch, if you call it that, is the 25-email cap and no online payment collection on the free tier.
WaffleInvoice offers a permanent free tier with 25 invoice emails per rolling 30 days, unlimited invoices, and a client portal. Most other free invoice software options are time-limited trials or have heavy watermarks. Our free plan has no watermark and does not expire.
You can still create unlimited invoices and download them as PDFs to send yourself. The 25-email cap only applies to emails sent through WaffleInvoice. Upgrade to Pro for unlimited email sends.
Not online. On the free plan, you can send invoices and manually mark them paid when clients pay you through another channel. Online card and ACH collection through Stripe requires the Pro plan at $19 a month.
Yes. WaffleInvoice has an iPhone and iPad app, and the mobile web experience works on iPhone and Android. Android availability is through the mobile browser.
No card is required to sign up. A card is requested on your first Send as an anti-abuse check, but it is never charged while you stay on the Free plan.
Free plan. Card on first Send only. Sign up in under 60 seconds.